Franklin County, NY (12930) 2021 FHA Loan Limits

2021 New York Standard Limits Last Updated: Sat, January 2, 2021

FHA Loan Limits

Single Family

Federal Housing Administration (FHA) Loans are federally insured mortgages.
In Franklin County, loan amounts may not exceed the limits above.

Local Loan Limits — Franklin County, NY

FHA and conventional Loan limits vary based on the number of living-units on the property. FHA loans are only allowed on 1 to 4 living-unit properties. These 1 to 4 unit properties can be purchased with an FHA loan as long as the owner occupies one of the unit. Properties with over 4 units are considered commercial and do not quality for FHA or conventional loans.

Loan Limit Summary

Limits for FHA Loans in Franklin County, New York range from $356,362 for 1 living-unit homes to $685,400 for 4 living-units. Conventional Loan Limits in Franklin County are $548,250 for 1 living-unit homes to $1,054,500 for 4 living-units. The 2021 Home Equity Conversion Mortgage (HECM) limits in Franklin County is $822,375. HECM limit does not depend on the size of the home.

What are Conventional Loans?

Conventional loans (also called "conforming") are loans that conform to the requirements set by Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac. Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac buy home loans from lenders to provide liquidity. This allows lenders to continue lending to home buyers. Otherwise, banks might not have enough money on hand continue lending. Fannie and Freddie set strict standards for the types of loans they will buy.

Franklin County has standard limits which means loan limits are equal to the 2021 national floor.

FHA Home Appraisal in Franklin County

To see if a home qualifies for an FHA loan, the property must be appraised by an approved FHA appraiser. Find FHA-approved appraisers in Franklin County. If you need a home inspector, click here to find FHA-approved inspectors in Franklin County. You can also save time by looking for FHA Condos that have already been approved.

VA Loan Limits in Franklin County

VA Loans are similar to FHA Loans in that it allows you to buy a home with very little money down. However VA Loans are only available to veterans of the Armed Forces. With VA loans the Department of Veterans Affairs guarantees the loan on the veteran's behalf. The maximum the VA will guarantee is set to the same amount as the single-family Fannie/Freddie Loan Limit. So the Franklin County, NY 2021 VA Loan Limit is $548,250

Learn more about VA Loans and how to qualify »

Additional Resources

How to qualify for an FHA Loan in Franklin County, New York?

The minimum loan amount in Franklin County is $5,000 dollars and may go up to $685,400 depending on home size and loan type. In order to qualify for an FHA loan, you must be planning to live in the home. Although a loan can include some renovation costs, FHA loans cannot be used for real estate investments in Franklin County.

Additionally, your loan amount cannot exceed the value of home you are purchasing. Learn more about FHA Loan Requirements.

Cities and ZIP Codes in Franklin County

The FHA Limits, VA Loan Limits, HECM Loan Limits, and Conforming Loan Limits listed on this page apply to Franklin County, New York which includes the following cities: Malone, Saranac Lake, Tupper Lake, North Bangor, Hogansburg, Chateaugay, Constable, Brushton, Moira, Fort Covington, Burke, Saint Regis Falls, Vermontville, Bombay, Lake Clear, Dickinson Center, Brainardsville, Owls Head, Paul Smiths, Rainbow Lake, and Gabriels.

Franklin County loan limits also apply to the following ZIP codes: 12953, 12983, 12986, 12966, 13655, 12920, 12926, 12916, 12957, 12937, 12917, 12980, 12989, 12914, 12945, 12930, 12915, 12969, 12970, 12976, and 12939.


Data sourced from the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD.GOV). If you notice an error on this page, please contact us.

** Document Provided By **