Contra Costa County, CA 2022 FHA Loan Limits

2022 California High Cost Limits Last Updated: Sun, January 2, 2022

FHA Loan Limits

Single Family

Federal Housing Administration (FHA) Loans are federally insured mortgages.
In Contra Costa County, loan amounts may not exceed the limits above.

Local Loan Limits — Contra Costa County, CA

FHA and conventional Loan limits vary based on the number of living-units on the property. FHA loans are only allowed on 1 to 4 living-unit properties. These 1 to 4 unit properties can be purchased with an FHA loan as long as the owner occupies one of the unit. Properties with over 4 units are considered commercial and do not quality for FHA or conventional loans.

Loan Limit Summary

Limits for FHA Loans in Contra Costa County, California range from $970,800 for 1 living-unit homes to $1,867,275 for 4 living-units. Conventional Loan Limits in Contra Costa County are $970,800 for 1 living-unit homes to $1,867,275 for 4 living-units. The 2022 Home Equity Conversion Mortgage (HECM) limits in Contra Costa County is $970,800. HECM limit does not depend on the size of the home.

What are Conventional Loans?

Conventional loans (also called "conforming") are loans that conform to the requirements set by Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac. Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac buy home loans from lenders to provide liquidity. This allows lenders to continue lending to home buyers. Otherwise, banks might not have enough money on hand continue lending. Fannie and Freddie set strict standards for the types of loans they will buy.

Contra Costa County has high cost limits to compensate for above average housing prices. Limits in Contra Costa County are above the 2022 national floor.

FHA Home Appraisal in Contra Costa County

To see if a home qualifies for an FHA loan, the property must be appraised by an approved FHA appraiser. Find FHA-approved appraisers in Contra Costa County. If you need a home inspector, click here to find FHA-approved inspectors in Contra Costa County. You can also save time by looking for FHA Condos that have already been approved.

VA Loan Limits in Contra Costa County

VA Loans are similar to FHA Loans in that it allows you to buy a home with very little money down. However VA Loans are only available to veterans of the Armed Forces. With VA loans the Department of Veterans Affairs guarantees the loan on the veteran's behalf. The maximum the VA will guarantee is set to the same amount as the single-family Fannie/Freddie Loan Limit. So the Contra Costa County, CA 2022 VA Loan Limit is $970,800

Learn more about VA Loans and how to qualify »

Additional Resources

How to qualify for an FHA Loan in Contra Costa County, California?

The minimum loan amount in Contra Costa County is $5,000 dollars and may go up to $1,867,275 depending on home size and loan type. In order to qualify for an FHA loan, you must be planning to live in the home. Although a loan can include some renovation costs, FHA loans cannot be used for real estate investments in Contra Costa County.

Additionally, your loan amount cannot exceed the value of home you are purchasing. Learn more about FHA Loan Requirements.

Cities and ZIP Codes in Contra Costa County

The FHA Limits, VA Loan Limits, HECM Loan Limits, and Conforming Loan Limits listed on this page apply to Contra Costa County, California which includes the following cities: Pittsburg, Antioch, San Pablo, Brentwood, San Ramon, Martinez, Concord, Danville, Pleasant Hill, Oakley, Richmond, Lafayette, Walnut Creek, El Cerrito, Hercules, El Sobrante, Orinda, Pinole, Alamo, Moraga, Clayton, Discovery Bay, Rodeo, Crockett, Byron, Bethel Island, Diablo, Knightsen, Canyon, and Port Costa.

Contra Costa County loan limits also apply to the following ZIP codes: 94565, 94509, 94806, 94513, 94583, 94553, 94521, 94531, 94582, 94526, 94523, 94561, 94804, 94520, 94549, 94598, 94518, 94530, 94506, 94547, 94803, 94801, 94596, 94563, 94597, 94564, 94519, 94595, 94507, 94556, 94517, 94805, 94505, 94572, 94525, 94514, 94511, 94528, 94548, 94524, 94820, 94802, 94522, 94807, 94808, 94575, 94516, 94570, 94569, 94527, and 94529.


Data sourced from the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD.GOV). If you notice an error on this page, please contact us.

** Document Provided By **