Santa Clara County, CA 2020 FHA Loan Limits

2020 California High Cost Limits Last Updated: Tue, August 18, 2020

FHA Loan Limits

Single Family

Federal Housing Administration (FHA) Loans are federally insured mortgages.
In Santa Clara County, loan amounts may not exceed the limits above.

Local Loan Limits — Santa Clara County, CA

FHA and conventional Loan limits vary based on the number of living-units on the property. FHA loans are only allowed on 1 to 4 living-unit properties. These 1 to 4 unit properties can be purchased with an FHA loan as long as the owner occupies one of the unit. Properties with over 4 units are considered commercial and do not quality for FHA or conventional loans.

Loan Limit Summary

Limits for FHA Loans in Santa Clara County, California range from $765,600 for 1 living-unit homes to $1,472,550 for 4 living-units. Conventional Loan Limits in Santa Clara County are $765,600 for 1 living-unit homes to $1,472,550 for 4 living-units. The 2020 Home Equity Conversion Mortgage (HECM) limits in Santa Clara County is $765,600. HECM limit does not depend on the size of the home.

What are Conventional Loans?

Conventional loans (also called "conforming") are loans that conform to the requirements set by Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac. Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac buy home loans from lenders to provide liquidity. This allows lenders to continue lending to home buyers. Otherwise, banks might not have enough money on hand continue lending. Fannie and Freddie set strict standards for the types of loans they will buy.

Santa Clara County has high cost limits to compensate for above average housing prices. Limits in Santa Clara County are above the 2020 national floor.

FHA Home Appraisal in Santa Clara County

To see if a home qualifies for an FHA loan, the property must be appraised by an approved FHA appraiser. Find FHA-approved appraisers in Santa Clara County. If you need a home inspector, click here to find FHA-approved inspectors in Santa Clara County. You can also save time by looking for FHA Condos that have already been approved.

VA Loan Limits in Santa Clara County

VA Loans are similar to FHA Loans in that it allows you to buy a home with very little money down. However VA Loans are only available to veterans of the Armed Forces. With VA loans the Department of Veterans Affairs guarantees the loan on the veteran's behalf. The maximum the VA will guarantee is set to the same amount as the single-family Fannie/Freddie Loan Limit. So the Santa Clara County, CA 2020 VA Loan Limit is $765,600

Learn more about VA Loans and how to qualify »

Additional Resources

How to qualify for an FHA Loan in Santa Clara County, California?

The minimum loan amount in Santa Clara County is $5,000 dollars and may go up to $1,472,550 depending on home size and loan type. In order to qualify for an FHA loan, you must be planning to live in the home. Although a loan can include some renovation costs, FHA loans cannot be used for real estate investments in Santa Clara County.

Additionally, your loan amount cannot exceed the value of home you are purchasing. Learn more about FHA Loan Requirements.

Cities and ZIP Codes in Santa Clara County

The FHA Limits, VA Loan Limits, HECM Loan Limits, and Conforming Loan Limits listed on this page apply to Santa Clara County, California which includes the following cities: Milpitas, Cupertino, San Jose, Sunnyvale, Santa Clara, Gilroy, Campbell, Morgan Hill, Palo Alto, Saratoga, Mountain View, Los Gatos, Los Altos, San Martin, Stanford, Alviso, Coyote, New Almaden, Redwood Estates, Mount Hamilton, and Holy City.

Santa Clara County loan limits also apply to the following ZIP codes: 95035, 95014, 95123, 95127, 94087, 95051, 95111, 95020, 95122, 95125, 95124, 94086, 95148, 95008, 95037, 95116, 95136, 95132, 95112, 94303, 95120, 95129, 95121, 95070, 95050, 95118, 94040, 95128, 95131, 95126, 94043, 94306, 95117, 95032, 95054, 94024, 95133, 94022, 95135, 94085, 94089, 95138, 94301, 95134, 95110, 95030, 94041, 95130, 95119, 95139, 95046, 94305, 94304, 95021, 95038, 95002, 95015, 95151, 95031, 94088, 95159, 95036, 95161, 95150, 95011, 95055, 95113, 94309, 95109, 95173, 95164, 95056, 95156, 94042, 95153, 94039, 94023, 94302, 95157, 95052, 95158, 95009, 95154, 95152, 95160, 95053, 95170, 94035, 95013, 95190, 95155, 95115, 95191, 95042, 95192, 95071, 95044, 95193, 95101, 95140, 95141, 95103, 95026, and 95106.


Data sourced from the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD.GOV). If you notice an error on this page, please contact us.

** Document Provided By **