Middlesex County, MA 2021 FHA Loan Limits

2021 Massachusetts High Cost Limits Last Updated: Sat, January 2, 2021

FHA Loan Limits

Single Family

Federal Housing Administration (FHA) Loans are federally insured mortgages.
In Middlesex County, loan amounts may not exceed the limits above.

Local Loan Limits — Middlesex County, MA

FHA and conventional Loan limits vary based on the number of living-units on the property. FHA loans are only allowed on 1 to 4 living-unit properties. These 1 to 4 unit properties can be purchased with an FHA loan as long as the owner occupies one of the unit. Properties with over 4 units are considered commercial and do not quality for FHA or conventional loans.

Loan Limit Summary

Limits for FHA Loans in Middlesex County, Massachusetts range from $724,500 for 1 living-unit homes to $1,393,300 for 4 living-units. Conventional Loan Limits in Middlesex County are $724,500 for 1 living-unit homes to $1,393,300 for 4 living-units. The 2021 Home Equity Conversion Mortgage (HECM) limits in Middlesex County is $822,375. HECM limit does not depend on the size of the home.

What are Conventional Loans?

Conventional loans (also called "conforming") are loans that conform to the requirements set by Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac. Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac buy home loans from lenders to provide liquidity. This allows lenders to continue lending to home buyers. Otherwise, banks might not have enough money on hand continue lending. Fannie and Freddie set strict standards for the types of loans they will buy.

Middlesex County has high cost limits to compensate for above average housing prices. Limits in Middlesex County are above the 2021 national floor.

FHA Home Appraisal in Middlesex County

To see if a home qualifies for an FHA loan, the property must be appraised by an approved FHA appraiser. Find FHA-approved appraisers in Middlesex County. If you need a home inspector, click here to find FHA-approved inspectors in Middlesex County. You can also save time by looking for FHA Condos that have already been approved.

VA Loan Limits in Middlesex County

VA Loans are similar to FHA Loans in that it allows you to buy a home with very little money down. However VA Loans are only available to veterans of the Armed Forces. With VA loans the Department of Veterans Affairs guarantees the loan on the veteran's behalf. The maximum the VA will guarantee is set to the same amount as the single-family Fannie/Freddie Loan Limit. So the Middlesex County, MA 2021 VA Loan Limit is $724,500

Learn more about VA Loans and how to qualify »

Additional Resources

How to qualify for an FHA Loan in Middlesex County, Massachusetts?

The minimum loan amount in Middlesex County is $5,000 dollars and may go up to $1,393,300 depending on home size and loan type. In order to qualify for an FHA loan, you must be planning to live in the home. Although a loan can include some renovation costs, FHA loans cannot be used for real estate investments in Middlesex County.

Additionally, your loan amount cannot exceed the value of home you are purchasing. Learn more about FHA Loan Requirements.

Cities and ZIP Codes in Middlesex County

The FHA Limits, VA Loan Limits, HECM Loan Limits, and Conforming Loan Limits listed on this page apply to Middlesex County, Massachusetts which includes the following cities: Malden, Medford, Woburn, Marlborough, Everett, Natick, Framingham, Billerica, Dracut, Watertown, Cambridge, Tewksbury, Lowell, Melrose, Chelmsford, Arlington, Wakefield, Burlington, Reading, Belmont, Westford, Wilmington, Waltham, Winchester, Acton, Stoneham, Somerville, Hudson, Sudbury, Newton Center, Lexington, Concord, Ashland, North Reading, Hopkinton, Chestnut Hill, Holliston, Wayland, Bedford, Newton, Tyngsboro, West Newton, Pepperell, Weston, Groton, Maynard, North Billerica, Littleton, Newtonville, North Chelmsford, Townsend, Newton Highlands, Stow, Ayer, Auburndale, Waban, Shirley, Lincoln, Boxborough, Carlisle, Sherborn, Dunstable, Ashby, Newton Upper Falls, West Townsend, Hanscom Afb, Newton Lower Falls, Village of Nagog Woods, Devens, Waverley, Nutting Lake, Pinehurst, Woodville, West Medford, Nonantum, North Waltham, New Town, Boston, Arlington Heights, and West Groton.

Middlesex County loan limits also apply to the following ZIP codes: 2148, 2155, 1801, 1752, 2149, 1760, 1701, 1821, 1826, 2472, 2139, 1876, 1852, 1851, 1702, 2176, 1824, 2474, 1880, 1803, 2138, 1867, 2478, 1886, 1887, 2453, 1890, 1720, 2180, 2145, 2143, 2144, 1854, 1749, 1776, 2459, 2421, 1742, 1721, 2451, 2476, 2140, 1864, 2420, 1748, 2467, 1746, 1778, 1730, 1850, 2458, 1879, 2465, 1463, 2493, 2452, 1450, 1754, 2141, 1862, 1460, 2460, 1863, 1469, 2461, 1775, 1432, 2466, 2468, 1464, 1773, 1719, 1741, 1770, 1827, 1431, 2464, 2142, 1474, 1731, 1853, 2462, 1718, 2238, 2454, 1888, 2477, 1889, 1822, 1434, 2153, 2479, 1865, 1703, 1866, 1784, 1704, 2156, 2495, 2455, 1705, 2456, 2471, 1805, 2212, 1807, 1470, 1813, 2475, 1471, 1815, and 1472.


Data sourced from the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD.GOV). If you notice an error on this page, please contact us.

** Document Provided By FHALoans.guide **
Source: https://fhaloans.guide/loan-limits/massachusetts/middlesex-county