Suffolk County, MA FHA Loan Limits

Last Updated: Wed, January 2, 2019

FHA Loan Limits — Suffolk County, MA

$688,850 1 Living-Unit
$881,850 2 Living-Units
$1,065,950 3 Living-Units
$1,324,750 4 Living-Units

Fannie/Freddie (Conventional) Loan Limits — Suffolk County, MA

$688,850 1 Living-Unit
$881,850 2 Living-Units
$1,065,950 3 Living-Units
$1,324,750 4 Living-Units

HECM Loan Limits — Suffolk County, MA

$726,525 All Home Sizes
2019 Massachusetts High Cost Limits

Local Loan Limits — Suffolk County, MA

Loan Limit Summary

Limits for FHA Loans in Suffolk County, Massachusetts range from $688,850 for 1 living-unit homes to $1,324,750 for 4 living-units. Conventional Loan Limits in Suffolk County are $688,850 for 1 living-unit homes to $1,324,750 for 4 living-units. The 2019 Home Equity Conversion Mortgage (HECM) limits in Suffolk County is $726,525. HECM limit does not depend on the size of the home.

FHA and conventional Loan limits vary based on the number of living-units on the property. FHA loans are only allowed on 1 to 4 living-unit properties. Suffolk County has high cost limits to compensate for above average housing prices. Limits in Suffolk County are above the 2019 national floor.

FHA Home Appraisal in Suffolk County

To see if a home qualifies for an FHA loan, the property must be appraised by an approved FHA appraiser. Find FHA-approved appraisers in Suffolk County. If you need a home inspector, click here to find FHA-approved inspectors in Suffolk County.

VA Loan Limits in Suffolk County

VA Loans are not insured the same way FHA loans are. With VA loans the Department of Veterans Affairs guarantees the loan on the veteran's behalf. But there is still a cap. The VA uses the 1 living-unit FHA Loan Limit as its cap on VA Loan Liability. The 2019 VA Loan Limit for Suffolk County, MA is $688,850.

To lean more about VA Loans and how to qualify, click here.

Additional Resources

How to qualify for an FHA Loan in Suffolk County, Massachusetts?

The minimum loan amount in Suffolk County is $5,000 dollars and may go up to $1,324,750 depending on home size and loan type. In order to qualify for an FHA loan, you must be planning to live in the home. Although a loan can include some renovation costs, FHA loans cannot be used for real estate investments in Suffolk County.

Additionally, your loan amount cannot exceed the value of home you are purchasing. Learn more about FHA Loan Requirements.

Cities and ZIP Codes in Suffolk County

The FHA Limits, HECM Loan Limits, and Conforming Loan Limits listed on this page apply to Suffolk County which includes the following cities: Revere, Dorchester Center, Boston, Brighton, Jamaica Plain, Roslindale, Chelsea, Hyde Park, Dorchester, West Roxbury, Mattapan, Roxbury, Winthrop, Charlestown, Allston, Roxbury Crossing, East Boston, and Readville.

Suffolk County loan limits also apply to the following ZIP codes: 2151, 2124, 2128, 2135, 2130, 2127, 2131, 2150, 2136, 2125, 2132, 2126, 2119, 2118, 2122, 2121, 2152, 2116, 2129, 2134, 2115, 2114, 2215, 2120, 2113, 2111, 2110, 2109, 2108, 2205, 2210, 2199, 2196, 2163, 2112, 2117, 2123, 2297, 2217, 2222, 2228, 2133, 2201, 2241, 2203, 2266, 2204, 2283, 2284, 2137, 2206, 2293, 2295, and 2211.


Data sourced from the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD.GOV). If you notice an error on this page, please contact us.

** Document Provided By **